Last Minute Christmas Shopping

or How to Keep Your Sanity in the Week Leading to Christmas…

One week to go… That’s seven days, or 168 hours, or 10080 minutes! I take my hat off to those of you who may have completed their Christmas shopping by now. But if you are anything like me, well… let’s say, I have wrapped up my Christmas presents on December 24th before…

As I am writing this, I can already imagine your reaction: who is she to give us advice?

Let’s just say that years of neurotic guilt, frenetic shopping and trembling gift-wrapping have taught me a thing or two (or three!) on how to retain my sanity whilst Christmas shopping at the eleventh hour.

All you need is a plan of action: easy-peasy!

1.Breathe!

Sounds patronising, I’ll admit, but I have survived last-minute shopping in the past, and so have most people! I don’t remember ever reading, or hearing about someone who might have perished because of it.

So breathe in, breathe out (keep going!) and move on to the next step.

2.Make a list.

Easy to write! Easy to read! And such a mind-clearer! And haven’t you ever felt this great sense of achievement (and relief) when crossing out an item of the list?

You know what you need; you can plan ahead where you need to go and how much you will spend on each person. AND, there is no way you will forget someone!

It also has the advantage to help you realise that actually, you do not have an unattainable task ahead of you. So to all procrastinators out there: take a post-it, a pen and write that list!

3.Short of ideas? Use MyList!

Right, so now you have a list of names, but no gifts ideas?

Go to www.mylist.ae and click on Gifts. There are gifts for children, for the home, etc. In French we say:”vous avez l’embarras du choix!” which would literally be translated so: “you have the embarrassment of the choice!”

To wrap this post up nicely, I will share with you a lovely quote I came across the other day:
A lovely thing about Christmas is that it’s compulsory, like a thunderstorm, and we all go through it together.
Garrison Keillor.

 

Leave a Reply

